DUI/OUI Lawyer in Massachusetts

Driving or operating a vehicle under the influence is taken very seriously in Massachusetts. If you have been charged with DUI/OUI in Massachusetts, you have rights, regardless of what the circumstances may be. Before you settle for any legal consequences, let the Amanda Dowgiert evaluate your case to see if she may be able to help.

In Massachusetts, a blood alcohol content of .08% or higher is over the legal limit. For those under the legal drinking age, the limit is only .02%. Commercial vehicle drivers are legally over the limit at .04%. A DUI/OUI can lead to high fines, jail time, and the loss of your driver’s license. A conviction can also negatively impact your job, education and reputation, and nearly every other aspect of your life… Many people resign themselves to the legal consequences without fully understanding their options or what kind of impact the imposed penalty may have on various aspects of their life.

The severity of the legal consequence for a DUI/OUI ranges depending on the facts surrounding the incident.  For example, if there is a child under the age of 14 in the vehicle or if there is an accident resulting in injury or death, the charges and penalties can be compounded.

DWI/OUI Law Firm

  • DWI Attorney Massachusettes
    DUI Lawyer
  • OUI Attorney Massachusettes
    OUI Lawyer

OUI Offenses in Massachusetts

1st Offense

For a 1st offense in Massachusetts, you may be facing up to 30 days in jail, a fine between $500 and $5,000, and a license suspension of one year. You may also be ordered to attend an alcohol treatment program.

2nd offense

A 2nd offense can yield 30 days to 30 months in jail, a fine up to $10,000, 2 years without a license, and also the installation of an ignition interlock device. You may be able to apply for a hardship.

3rd Offense

A 3rd offense can lead to 150 days to 5 years in jail, a fine between $1,000 and $10,000, an 8 year license suspension, and the installation of an ignition interlock device.

4th and 5th offenses

Any offense after a 3rd can lead to serious prison time and fines far above $10,000. You could also be subject to a permanent license revocation.

Refusing to submit to a blood alcohol content test will result in the loss of a license.

It is important for anyone facing a DUI/OUI charge to understand their basic rights. There are also alternative programs for first time offenders. These programs can mean keeping your license, avoiding jail time, and protecting your record. While the situation may seem bleak at first, having a skilled legal negotiator and litigator in your corner can make a major difference in how your case is resolved.

OUI Offenses in Massachusetts

Amanda Dowgiert is a criminal defense attorney who will listen to the facts of your case, evaluate the evidence, and assess any extenuating circumstances. There are times when test results or even the initial reason for being pulled over prove to be false or unreliable. Amanda Dowgiert can help you navigate the legal process of being charged with a DUI/OUI in Massachusetts. She will be committed to obtaining the best possible outcome and protecting your rights during this difficult time.

We provide a free consultation on most matters.

Phone: 781-552-0341

E-mail: ADowgiert@DowgiertLaw.com